Pick yourself up Sinead, the whole beach is watching.

19 May

Last time I was in Byron Bay this was the view I had

20130519-151857.jpg
Skydiving from 14,000, free falling for 60 seconds. Needless to say I don’t remember a whole lot of it.
So with the sun shining we made our way down pacific highway byron bay bound. If Byron was anymore laid back it would be laying down. The place is so mellow and chilled out. Land of the surfer with scruffy hair and the dog with the bandana.
We pulled into our motel and threw the bags in the room. We grabbed the body boards and headed for the beach.

20130519-152613.jpg
This time I decided to try my hand at bodyboarding. We walked out to sea for what seemed like ages. Finally a wave came and I jumped on the board. Wipeout!!! Straight into the water face down, mouth full of sand. Blugh I felt like I’d been smacked in the back of the head with a hammer. So I managed to pick myself up and smack winded by a massive wave. I looked at mark as if to say and what part of this do you find enjoyable. I stomped out of the sea. Just as I reached the shore I missed a dip and face planted the water. I looked up and the whole beach was looking at me. I picked myself up and tried to act like nothing happened, least nobody knew me!!
So I got back to the towel. Blew all the salt water out of my nose and decided I was heading back in. Right I’m gonna try this bodyboarding again. So I got back on board and yeehaw I caught my first wave. It was amazing. The rush was something else. So I gave the board back to mark and paddled around. Next thing I see this dog, not only swimming quicker then me but further out then me. Well that was awkward and he looked like an old dog!.
About 3.30pm it was turning chilly so we decided to head back. Showered and clean we got ready for dinner. We decided to head to Hogs Breath. It’s a bit like TGI’s back home. It was quiet enough so we managed to get a table. The service was dreadful. We waited ages for our food and it was as dry. I might as well have licked the table for more flavour.
Right lets try desert. Hogs breath rocky road. Sounded amazing. When this desert came out it was the size of my head. This thing never ended. We ate and ate and ate. No let up I couldn’t see the bottom, eventually I gave up swiftly followed by mark.

20130519-154527.jpg
We headed back to the motel and watched movies. Our original plan for Sunday was to hit the beach early but it was so cold we had to give it a miss. We opted for a trip to the Byron Bay lighthouse

20130519-154720.jpg
The views from here were beyond words I genuinely haven’t seen views like this before. It was beautiful and the further up we went the more amazing it was.

20130519-154842.jpg
While looking out to sea I spotted a trio of dolphins, I actually thought I was going to have a panic attack from excitement. I didn’t know there were dolphins off the coast let alone that we’d actually see them. My weekend had just been made complete. We watched them for ages. We made our way around the light house and the coast.
Finally it was time to head home. Byron was simply amazing. We loved every minute of it. ☀💜☀

20130519-155249.jpg

Leave a Reply

