No love for Bali

23 Feb

So where do I begin? Ok so I think it’s safe to say I haven’t completely dismissed Bali but this week hasn’t left a great impression.
So Wednesday we got the news we were waiting for which meant we’d to leave the country to get a visa. So Wednesday night we booked everything by Thursday afternoon we were on the plane. This is the first time we’ve ever put so little planning into a holiday and yes to be honest we regretted it!
So it took us 6 hours to get to Bali and they were 6 hours of hell. We’d two guys behind us who drank all their duty free while on the plane and then proceeded to become loud, obnoxious and aggressive. You know it’s bad when they pilot comes out to remove them to the back of the plane. We finally landed and sorted out our visas for Bali. The customs over here are in no rush they enjoy wandering around.
So we made our way outta the airport and found a taxi thankfully we were a short ride to the hotel.
The roads are manic over here scooters everywhere. We turned up this dirt road and there was the hotel hidden away.
The hotel is amazing, the staff are so polite and helpful and the facilities are great. Everything is so cheap here so we’ve been living like kings.
So one of the mornings we decided to go for a wander to find plugs for our phones etc. to say it was a nightmare is an understatement. I’ve never been groped and mauled as much as I have here and I wouldn’t mind but I’m taller then the entire population!
The place is filthy there is rubbish everywhere and the smell was enough to make me dry retch the whole way down the road. The paths are slabs over the sewage and I tripped more times then I’d like to remember! The worst part was the fear of walking anywhere. I don’t like to be touched but this didn’t seen to stop then. Even mark felt out of his comfort zone and didn’t enjoy it. So we made the decision to stay in the hotel.
I haven’t given up on Bali I just would prefer to research it better and go far far into the heart of Bali. The trip served its purpose of getting the visa so thank god for that!!

20130223-125847.jpg

Leave a Reply

