Finding Nemo . . At the bottom of a sick bag

19 Jan

One day I hope to write that I made a whole journey without a sick bag but today is not going to be that day.
We set out at 6am off to 1770 to catch the boat to the Great Barrier Reef. The 1st hour went by ok but then everything went belly up . . Literally!
About 70% of the passengers were throwing up and it would have been rude of me not to join them. Thankfully I didn’t have any breakfast so I wasn’t as ill as a lot of people. Because we had the extra hour in scooter Roos yesterday I didn’t get to a chemist to get any motion sickness tablets.
I think the captain took great pleasure in driving full force into the waves, jumping the boat up and down 😷. Poor Mark looked mortified as I made noises that can only be described as a cat with a furball. Thankfully some woman took sympathy on me and gave me two tablets for the return journey.
The motion sickness was all worth once we reached the pontoon. We left everything on the boat and got flippers and snorkels and got straight in the water. I’ve never done anything like this before so it was all new to me but it was amazing I’ve never seen anything like it before swimming for hours looking at fish and the different coral.
This trip had no time limits. I think we spent about 2 hours in the water, had a quick lunch and then did a couple of the trips.
They have a 1/2 submerged boat that you can sit in and look at the reef and then each group had allocated island time.
We took a boat over to Lady Musgrave island and had a walking tour. The island was freaky. For everyone one of us in the group there must have been approx 100 birds and they poop everywhere it was disgusting. Worst part was the dying birds everywhere not something I really wanted to see. So by this time it was 3pm and time to go. Thankfully the crossing was a lot smoother and I managed to sleep for all of it. The Great Barrier Reef was incredible and it’s something we’ve managed to tick off the bucket list. It’s something natural, beautiful and unspoilt and would recommend it to anyone who has the chance to visit ☺ 20130119-172527.jpg

Leave a Reply

